ITPC Secretariat

Rationale for the International Tropical Peatlands Center

In the spirit of international, multi-stakeholder and multi-donor South-South cooperation with an eye to partner with the international community, the International Tropical Peatlands Center (ITPC) is built on the principle of true cross-sector collaboration and integration, building a resilient and holistic platform for science, policy and practice, and attracting the best minds working on research and practice in this field.

The Government of Indonesia with the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, the Government of Peru announced in Jakarta, 30 October 2018, a collaboration to form ITPC.

The launch was the next step after the historic 2018 Brazzaville Declaration to promote better management and conservation of the world’s largest tropical peatlands, the Cuvette Centrale region in the Congo Basin, and to undertake other peatland initiatives.


Founding member states
Republic of Indonesia Republic of the Congo Democratic Republic of the Congo Republic of Peru
Coordinating partners
Ministry of Environment and Forestry Republic of Indonesia CIFOR UN Environment FAO